“Bucky, Bucky, Buucckkyy!”  Rosie screamed.

    “Where is he today, he always meets us when we come off the bus?”, I said.

Let me introduce myself, my name is Kenzi Willis and I am in the 8th grade. I have a sister and a cousin that

live with me and my parents. Riley, my sister, can be a little hot-headed while Journey, my cousin, has a

more ebullient spirit, she is always happy and thinks the best about people, and I am the reasonable one out of

all of us. Right now I am with my best friend Rosie, who I have known since we were young, and we are looking

for Bucky, the black and white Rottweiler, our neighborhood dog. 

    “Maybe he will show up later.” says Rosie as she is walking towards her burnt orange house,   “Anyway I’ll see you later this is my stop.”

    “Okay, see you tomorrow.”I say.

I continue to walk down the street going to my house. It’s a beautiful spring day. Vibrant flowers with colors of

apricot, rose, fuchsia, and amber. The tall evergreen trees, the birds chirping it’s just a wonderful sight to see.

As I walk down the hill I see Bucky running towards me with his tail wagging in the air.

    “Hi Bucky… hey boy!” I said as I rubbed his head.

I continue to walk to my house with Bucky by my side. I reached my house with Bucky following which has

never happened before. I look at him and finally notice that he has a note attached to his collar. I take the note

off of him and read the note and it reads: HELP ME!! 2134 Rochester Dr.   Running hastily in the house to 

find my sister Kylie and cousin Journey on the computer. They look at me and knows that something is wrong.

    “What’s wrong Kenzi?”, They both say at the same time.

I held the paper up and they read it. 
 
    “We have to go!”, screamed Journey.

    “NO, it could be a creepy old man trying to hit on some young girls; I think we should just call the police.”, Kylie stated.

    “The only creepy guy is Mister Ronald and he lives on the other side of the neighborhood.”, I said.

    “Come on let’s just go and see and if we need to call the police and then we will call them on our cellphones.”Journey said.

    “Fine.”, I said.

    “Fine!”, Kylie said, while rolling her eyes and stomping, her size 3 feet.

We walked outside to find that Bucky was still out there on our porch. So we started to walk to the house. As

we were walking I could feel Kylie glowering at me and Riley. She didn’t say a word to us the wholetime. We

finally reached the house and it was the creepiest house I have ever seen.  It seemed like the sun shiny day

went away. There was this huge dark cloud that hovered above it, making the house look as black as coal. The

house looked as old as my grannies 100 year old cat. The grass was as high as me, making it look like an open
 
field. We were debating on whether we should go in the house or just turn around.

    “Let’s just call the police and wait across the street for them to come.” I stated

    “We have come all this way, and what if they don’t come in time and they die, I could never live with that on my shoulder.” Journey said.

    “What if we die, they not gone have nothing on their shoulder because they gone be the one to kill us!” Riley shouted.

    “Well I’m going whether you come or not because someone needs our help. Let’s go Bucky” Journey says.

Bucky walks over to me and looks at me with those puppy dog eyes.

    “Fine!” I yelled, while dragging Riley along with me.

We walk up to the door to see that it is already cracked open. We knock on the door and the door creeks open

sounding like something out of those horror films. 

    “Hello…Hello… Did somebody ask for help?” We say but, no one answers.
 
I then tell Bucky to go in first and we follow. This house is like the ones in those scary movies. The walls are

pilling, showing wallpaper that looks like it came from the 1950s. The wooden floors creak and is filled with

dust, like they haven’t been polished since the house was built many years ago. The house smells like old

people, mothballs and peppermint. I see a light up ahead, so we go to it, walking carefully. There lays an old

lady with big moles on her face, a group of worry lines on her forehead, her hair is sticking up in all kinds of

ways like she hasn’t brushed it nor washed it in weeks, and she is just lying on her sofa. 

    “H...e.ll...o, a.r.e... y.o.u…a...w.a…ke?” Journey stuttered.

    “Yes, I am awake are you the ones that Bucky here found to come and help me?” states the Old Lady.

    “Yes, we are.” we all say.

    “What did you need help with?” Riley asks impatiently yet terrified, while shifting the weight from one leg to the other.

    “I need some batteries for my remote control, so that I can watch Oprah on my television.” The old lady
says.

It seemed like everything stopped right after she said that. We all look at each other and then we look at her

and then we look at each other and then we look at her. Out of nowhere we just burst out laughing so hard that

we leaning over clutching our stomachs and wiping tears from our eyes.

    “What’s so funny?”the Old Lady asks.

    “Nothing, we will go get some batteries and bring them back.” I said, while trying not to laugh.

    “Thanks darlings, now y’all hurry on back now my show starts in a little while.”

    “Yes, ma’am”, we all say.

So, we went and got some batteries from our house and took them to the Old Lady. She got to watch her show

and we learned a valuable lesson, never judge a book by its cover. That still doesn’t mean to go into creepy

house but it does mean not to judge others.




Leave a Reply.